WILDI Beginner Guide to Crystal Therapy & The Chakras

Many people believe that crystals and semi-precious stones have the ability to hold large amounts of therapeutic energy and power because it takes millions of years for crystals and gemstones to form underground. As we connect more with the earth, more and more individuals are open to seeking out the potential advantages that crystals have to offer. It is a widely held view that certain crystals and stones contain high vibrational energy, which can be transmitted to you and restore your own energetic balance. 

Chakra (cakra in Sanskrit) means “wheel of light” and refers to energy points in your body. They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being. Each chakra can be balanced and healed with certain stones and crystals that can truly assist you in restoring your spiritual energies.

In this article, you'll find a basic description of each chakra and a list of specific stones which are known to assist and support you in achieving a state of harmony by balancing the chakra system. The goal of this article is to help you to select stones that resonate with you the most. Ready to learn more?

Let's get WILDI with the chakras!

Let's start with where each chakra aligns in the body. As you can see there are 7 chakras that make up the system and when all chakras are spinning in a positive direction we experience harmony. Now we'll summarize the defining characteristics of each of the seven chakras, explain how to tell when any of them are blocked, and which crystals best support each chakra. 


The crown (7th chakra) is located at the top of the head. It represents states of higher consciousness and divine connection. Imbalanced attributes include cynicism, disregard for what is sacred, close mindedness, and disconnection with spirit. When you fully open your crown chakra—something very few people ever do!—you're able to access a higher consciousness.

What it controls: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection

Mantra: "I am a vessel for love and light."

CROWN CHAKRA STONES: Clear Quartz, Moonstone, Labradorite, Amethyst, Selenite, Howlite, Geode, Fluorite


The third eye (6th chakra) is located at the centre of the forehead, between the eyebrows. It represents intuition, foresight, and is driven by openness and imagination. Imbalanced attributes include lack of direction and lack of clarity. Think of it as the eye of the soul: It registers information beyond the surface level allowing you to see the bigger picture. Visions and intuitive hits are not uncommon for someone with an open third-eye chakra.

What it controls: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom

Mantra: "I am open to exploring what cannot be seen."

THIRD EYE CHAKRA STONES: Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Sapphire, Celestite, Kyanite, Amethyst


The throat (5th chakra) is located at the centre of the neck. It represents the ability to speak and communicate clearly and effectively. Imbalanced attributes include shyness, being withdrawn, arrogance, and increased anxiety. Someone with a blocked throat chakra will feel like they have trouble finding the words to say how they truly feel. When it's functioning at full capacity, it allows us to express ourselves truly and clearly.

What it controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth
Mantra: "I speak my truth, always."

THROAT CHAKRA STONES: Turquoise, Blue Lace Agate, Kyanite, Aquamarine, Aqua Aura, Apatite


The heart (4th chakra) is located at the centre of the chest. It represents love, self-love, and governs our relationships. Imbalanced attributes include depression, difficulty with relationships, and lack of self-discipline. The heart chakra, is the bridge between the lower chakras (associated with materiality) and the upper chakras (associated with spirituality). As the name suggests, this chakra can influence our ability to give and receive love—from others and ourselves. Someone with a blocked heart chakra will have difficulty fully opening up to the people in their life. If someone's heart is open, they can experience deep compassion and empathy.

What it controls: Love, joy, and inner peace
Mantra: "When I love myself, loving others comes easily."

HEART CHAKRA STONES: Rose Quartz, Rhodonite, Amazonite, Adventurine, Jade, Peridot


The solar plexus (3rd chakra) is located below the chest. It represents self-esteem, pleasure, will-power, and personal responsibility. Imbalanced attributes include low self-esteem, control issues, manipulative tendencies and misuse of power. If your solar plexus chakra is blocked, you might feel overwhelming amounts of shame and self-doubt. Those with open sacral chakras are free to express their true selves.

What it controls: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem
Mantra: "Self-love starts when I accept all parts of myself."

SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA STONES: Citrine, Topaz, Tiger's Eye, Amber, Pyrite, Moonstone, Sunstone


The sacral (2nd chakra) is located below the navel. It represents creative and sexual energies. Imbalanced attributes include lack of or repressed creativity, sexual disfunction, withheld intimacy, and emotional isolation, leading to the feeling of a lack of control in their lives. Those with open sacral chakras are free to express their true selves. 

What it controls: Your sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality

Mantra: "I always honor others but not before myself."

SACRAL CHAKRA STONES: Carnelian, Citrine, Tiger's Eye, Sunstone, Labradorite


The root (1st chakra) is located at the base of the spine. It provides the foundation on which we build our life representing safety, security, and stability. Imbalanced attributes include scattered energy, anxiety, and fear. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. 

What it controls: Survival issues and basic needs such as financial independence, money, and food

Mantra: "I can't grow from an unsteady foundation." 

ROOT CHAKRA STONES: Red Coral, Tourmeline, Bloodstone, Obsidian, Goldstone, Black Onyx, Garnet, Smokey Quartz

 . . . . . . .

There are so many beneficial and beautiful crystals that you can integrate into your life to help balance your chakras, but I've found that one of the best ways is by wearing them as jewellery which allows me to have them on my person as I move through the world. When it comes to the matter of picking the right stones it's best to use your intuition and go for the ones that you feel most attracted to. Don't question it, you can't get it wrong. Enjoy the journey!